Can we (sort of) make Fallout object oriented?

JimTheDinosaur

Vault Dweller
Modder
Initial note: I'm no programmer, so forgive me if I'm misusing terminology concerning OOP.

The single biggest limitation of modding FO is that almost everything of note is done through the use of prototypes. That is to say, any critter, piece of scenery, or pistol mainly exists not as a separate entity, but only as an instantiation of a prototype: a clone of all others sharing its PID except for a few exceptions such as location on a certain map, or having a certain amount of hitpoints in case of a critter, etc.

Working with these prototypes is cumbersome because they're extremely inflexible: you can't dynamically create new ones, and you can only temporarily change them on the fly, and when changing them, you of course immediately implement these changes for all those sharing the PID (which leads to amusing things such as one of Metzger's goons drinking alcohol leading to all his buddies feeling the effects as well). FO2 already saw devs experiencing the hindrances created by this approach as they implemented things like separate NPC levels and a greater variety of weapon modifications. This created the absurd situation where one single party member object had to have several prototypes, and weapons had to have another prototype with a different modification because an object in itself can't change.

So, could some limited form of individuality be attained given the tools we have? Let's look at the tools first, (limited) individuality exists in two forms for objects:

- local variables (LVAR's) in map object scripts.
- object pointers.

The way you could try working with LVAR's is by giving say, every object with a script a separate LVAR which gives them a permanent global ID, and having these objects communicate this ID to some global script whenever the script is loaded. This has some obvious limitations tho which makes it undesirable for me: