Fallout 2 mod Fallout et tu - Release v1.2

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by Lexx, Aug 23, 2019.

  1. gustarballs1983

    gustarballs1983 Mildly Dipped

    581
    Oct 28, 2009
    That's why I said it's only ExaGear Windows Emulator that will be able to run it, while ExaGear RPG will not.

    been there, done that, got the know how.

    although i'm still not aware what *other/additional* libraries does Fo et tu require. as I've often seen voodoo and rfall mentions in tortoise notes so i simply don't know.


    I also see another problem.
    Fo:et tu requires much higher resolution set in order to work. so it is up to the actual android device to know wether it will be possible to play it. He'll need at least 8 core 2.0 GHz and a decent GPU for his android ARM device, plus at least 7,5" screen otherwise it will be stutering and screen size determines how easy it is to hit fallout buttons with something as fat as fingers. personally while playing Fallout Resurrection on android i use Razer Naga with all 17 buttons connected via otg cable and default screen controls, because default ones don't crash to desktop when i use right mouse button. also right mouse button woks properly when on default controls.
    the only issue is synchronising on screen cursor with otg cursor, it's doable but it's a hassle.


    from other keg:

    If You want Katja to be decent end game try to enable big guns animation for her "8" in the armor change file. For the time beeing she can use laser rifle, and there is actually a second Turbo Plasma Rifle hidden in the endgame, and it was there even in vanilla Fallout waay before FIXT or et tu were a thing. the only issue was no use for it once aquired.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2020
  2. ghost2238

    ghost2238 First time out of the vault

    17
    Dec 13, 2019
    rfall is simply our own version of sfall compiled from https://github.com/rotators/sfall and voodoo stuff is just our way to talk about binary patches which modify the engine/game code from scripts via the UnsafeScripting functionality allowed by vanilla sfall. It's done like that to remove dependencies on additional dlls and making it easier to turn on/off stuff without having to add new .ini options.
     
  3. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    It does not. Just disable the interface upscaled mod and done. That's why we've added the warning popups.
    I'll disable this mod in v1.1 because obviously it overburdens folk.
     
  4. gustarballs1983

    gustarballs1983 Mildly Dipped

    581
    Oct 28, 2009
    Yes, but we still don't know wether Fallout: et tu has any other .dll it depends on besides ddraw.dll and f2_res.dll...

    I just mentioned the fact of higher resolution required because native for et tu was ment to be 800x600 at least pipboy note did not function corectly some time ago (at least I remember some *volks* brought it up).

    In ExaGear it is best to run everything in 640x480, because otherwise interface buttons are so damn small it is not possible to click them with a finger.

    as as for Interface_upsacaled, whatever.. some folks don't see the difference and play with low res others more interested will find out anyway and enable it properly. As for myself I play all Fallout games in FullHD and in Fo:EtTu i have Interface_Upscaled feature always enabled.
     
  5. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    The PipBoy note thing was fixed some patches ago. It should now show correctly no matter the resolution.
    The mod does not use any other .dll files unless you install other mods with more .dll files - but as far as I know, there aren't any.
     
  6. gustarballs1983

    gustarballs1983 Mildly Dipped

    581
    Oct 28, 2009
    good to know.. henceforth I can easily state now that One can easily run Fallout:EtTu in Exagear Windows Emulator, however *not* in ExaGear RPG.
     
  7. FatMerc

    FatMerc First time out of the vault

    41
    Feb 18, 2020
    @gustarballs1983 @Lexx @ghost2238 I just want to state that I am able to run fallout 2 with MM and RP updated on exagear RPG by using winecfg and adding ddraw as "native,builtin". Then copying that specific section [Software\\Wine\\Dlloverides] from the xdroid folder's user.reg file to xdroid-fallout2's user.reg file. Exagear RPG will recognize and use ddraw and res.dll. You don't have to add res.dll though. I'm still having trouble with fallout et tu though. I removed all necessary files from fallout 1's master.dat. I was wondering if it should still play if I'm off a file or two because I was unable to use undat.exe?
     
  8. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    Well, undat.exe isn't extracting *all* files, only the ones in undat_files.txt - if you extract too many files (for example maps or proto files), that can cause issue. If you don't extract any files, you will mostly only get visual glitches + don't have any talking heads and voice over.
     
  9. FatMerc

    FatMerc First time out of the vault

    41
    Feb 18, 2020
    @Lexx I didn't say all files, I said necessary files (the ones from your list). I just wanted to know if I'm off by one or two if I'm alright...This is my folder structure:

    appearance
    art( from fallout 1 master.dat extraction)
    config
    data
    mods
    sound( from fallout 1 master.dat extraction)

    the rest of the files in root are: fallout.exe,ddraw.dll,etc.

    In fallout.cfg its modified too look back at fallout 2's critter.dat and master.dat files and I assume those are needed to play.

    Just wanted to know if everything looks correct so far...
     
  10. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    As I wrote... Missing files will not crash the game.
     
  11. 25_year_old_None

    25_year_old_None First time out of the vault

    34
    Jan 27, 2020
    Has the quest "find children spy in the followers" been fixed?

    The motorcycle eats through micro-fusion cells like crazy! Almost would help to be able to use ammo in the hand and "use on" the bike.

    Had a small error message asking to contact Sduibek in a random encounter in a city area of the world map.

    Shark stays frozen in death when killed by Neal in Skum Pit

    Mrs Stapleton has way too many books like 13 Science books after a few passages.

    Lots of companions don't really attack during combat, just stay or keep reloading guns.
    Katja uses flares in combat a lot, or EMP grenades against super mutants.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2020
  12. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    It's deleted because it's garbage.
    "I experienced a bug in the game" ... ok.
    Could be another Fixt-bug. I'll check it out later.
    Check their combat settings.
    Fallout combat ai in a nutshell. Don't give them these weapons, don't have these problems.
     
  13. laclongquan

    laclongquan Boned Hunter of Sister

    422
    Jan 11, 2008
    @Lexx, I dont know why but suddenly Old Town become very laggy. I attach a savegame for your bug-fixing. It's not a big problem for me, as I can buy things elsewhere, but the suddenness of it is... well, sudden.

    Possibly Katja has highest skill in throwing which is why she did that. I just remove all throwing-category items from her inventory. And drop all my plasma pistols there because she is affected by my Jinxed to explode her guns. A lil bit too often, in fact. Plasma pistol has higher priority than sniper rifle for Katja.

    I find that Custom do a great job to restrain burst-tendency and etc.

    Sidenote: once, Ian is out of ammo for his P90 so he took out frags and throw at targets. The which Dogmeat is near. Necessary to say I have to reload to a savegame before that encounter and drop more ammo into his inventory.

    EDITY EDIT: the first reload I did to avoid Old Town. But later on the lag extend to Adytum. So I do a really long reload of way back when. And it's been running smooth since. I expect a map data get corrupted somehow.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2020
  14. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    Looks like the map file got corrupted. There is a wall piece missing from the warehouse, and whenever i scroll to have it visible on screen, the game goes belly up. I have never seen something like that before. No idea what's causing this.

    I've noticed your inventory is full with items. Where did you cheat all this stuff? My first assumption would be that something caused the savegame to break, and this seems kinda likely.
     
  15. .Pixote.

    .Pixote. Carbon Dated and Proud
    Modder

    Sep 14, 2009
    It seems strange when people want bugs fixed when they have cheated in half of their inventory items, the game should be played clean, as a result the bugs will be clean...:confused:
     
    • [Rad] [Rad] x 1
  16. laclongquan

    laclongquan Boned Hunter of Sister

    422
    Jan 11, 2008
    The only cheat is to set carryweight to 999 (hex editing). The other items? Farming around Boneyards (to wait for Gunrunners spawn riot shotgun) AND Mariposa (xp with loots) and shopping. There's no way to mod in items that I know.

    Okay, it might be that there's too much item types, an old problem in Fallout 2. Might be.
     
  17. Lexx

    Lexx Background Radiant
    Moderator Modder

    Apr 24, 2005
    In any case, the problem is the broken map. There is nothing I can do to fix this.
     
  18. laclongquan

    laclongquan Boned Hunter of Sister

    422
    Jan 11, 2008
    No problem. I reloaded an earlier save and avoid that area anyway~
     
  19. laclongquan

    laclongquan Boned Hunter of Sister

    422
    Jan 11, 2008
  20. FatMerc

    FatMerc First time out of the vault

    41
    Feb 18, 2020
    @gustarballs1983 I can now indeed confirm Fallout et tu works on Exagear RPG. I've been playing for the past couple days and all seems well. And it works at 640x480

    @Lexx If my post came across as too harsh I apologize, didn't intend to. Anyways I've got Fallout et tu running on my device. I ran into a problem with the ddraw.dll thats included with fallout et tu. It crashed on startup, so I instead used sfall 4.2.3 ddraw.dll and ddraw.ini. Then made sure everything matched up from your .ini to sfall 4.2.3's ini and everything works fine. The only thing is that on map startup I get a message about a custom dll and how some features are disabled. I wanted to know which features? So far its been running great, I've got as far as the raider camp and haven't noticed a single hiccup. Maybe too many items like mentioned above?

    Other than that great mod!
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2020