Regarding the Highwayman and its real-life counterpart.

PZKPFW

First time out of the vault
Hello all, I've been lurking around these forums for many years and just now decided to register. But I'll just get straight to the point.

I recently started playing Fallout 2 again and got to the point where you get the fuel cell regulator from the broken down Chrysalis Motors Highwayman. The car looked very familiar to me so I decided to do some research on it.

According to the Fallout bible the Highwayman was based off of the 1957 Chevrolet. I am an old car collector, and while I don't think it's wise to go against the Fallout bible (Sure I'm going to get a ton of flak for this), I must say that that has to be incorrect.

I decided to do some comparisons of the Highwayman, the 1957 Chevrolet, and two other likely candidates (1959 Plymouth and Chrysler).

Highwayman (Resized):
copyofchrysalismotorshimz2.jpg

1959 Chrysler (It was a pain to get pictures of the right model):
1959chrysler1go9.jpg

1959chrysler2if3.jpg

1957 Chevrolet:
chevrolet1957ib6.jpg

1959 Plymouth:
59plymouth01bbo8.jpg

86652012qn6.jpg

Comparisons:

1959 Chrysler VS Highwayman

Similarities:
Same general shape.
Large rear fins.
Similar grill.
Lower, flatter roof.
Somewhat similar hood.
Similar headlights.
Chrysler is similar to Chrysalis.

Differences:
Different bumper.
Smaller 3rd headlight below the duals on the Chrysler.
Seems a little more rounded than the Highwayman.
Smaller headlights.

1957 Chevrolet VS Highwayman

Similarities:
Same general body style of late 1950's cars.
Bumpers are vaguely similar.
Same windshield, but most 50's cars had the same windshield style.
Similar grill behind the bumper.

Differences:
Highwayman has dual headlights, while the 1957 Chevy has singles.
Rear tail fins are much less pronounced compared to the Highwayman.
Different hood style.
Higher more rounded roof.

1959 Plymouth VS Highwayman

Similarities:
Similar body style.
Similar dual headlights.