Which mods/patches for Fallout 1&2?

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by Guest, Dec 9, 2002.

  1. Carnivàle

    Carnivàle So it goes

    18
    Oct 8, 2011
    Hi, I'm new here.

    I downloaded Fallout 1 and 2 from gog.com, do I need to install any mod/patch or not?
    I'm going to play these two gems for the first time, so I wanna enjoy them properly.
    Thanks in advance for some answers.
     
  2. Richwizard

    Richwizard Carbon Dated and Proud
    Orderite

    Jan 18, 2010
    Fallout 1 is good to go, as long as you have the latest official version which is 1.1. Other mods can be added to your taste, but the game is perfectly playable.

    The official version of Fallout 2 is broken as hell. It has hundreds, maybe thousands of glitches that were never fixed by Interplay, even with their patches. This is probably due to much of the game's content being cut before it was even completed. Thanks to Killap, however, this is no longer a problem. He has created a massive patch that took a couple of years to finish. It fixes the published game. He has also created the "Fallout 2 Restoration Project". This is an endeavor by Killap and others to restore all the aforemention cut/incomplete content, which was still crammed into the game's code. It adds many quests and new locations to the wasteland.

    You can find both of these HERE.

    To use either you should have the latest official version of FO2, version 1.02, which you probably do. Then use either the patch OR the FO2RP, not both. The patch is incorporated into the RP. There is one minor thing worth noting about the FO2RP. The content that they wanted to restore is complete. But, there are a few minor bugs left in the RP and Killap is working when he can to squash them. None of these bugs are game breaking, however. The next update will likely be the final one for the full English language version. The only update planned after that will be putting multilingual support back into the game.

    Once again, other mods can be added to your taste, but either Killap's patch or the Restoration Project will give you a complete, playable FO2 game.
     
  3. Carnivàle

    Carnivàle So it goes

    18
    Oct 8, 2011
    Thank you so much dude, fast and clear!
     
  4. Random Turnip

    Random Turnip First time out of the vault

    66
    May 29, 2009
    I have the Fallout Collection, by White Label and am trying to run is on a 64 bit Windows 7 machine, does all this advise still apply?
    Just run F1 vanilla and install all of killap's stuff for F2?
     
  5. Random Turnip

    Random Turnip First time out of the vault

    66
    May 29, 2009
    Sorry to double post. I tried running Fallout 1 vanilla, it works, but i have the "rainbow colours" problem. I've googled but the things i tried don't seem to have made any difference.

    Killap's mod works great in F2, looks brill.
     
  6. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    Check out my mod if you're having color problems. It includes the f1 high res mod which if run @ 16bit fixes the issue, and also includes two utilities that can also be used for fixing the colors issue.

    http://www.nma-fallout.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=57362&highlight=
     
  7. expansion80

    expansion80 First time out of the vault

    6
    Dec 15, 2010
    hey im thinking about replaying fallout 1 and im wondering what mods should i download also what fallout 1 mods are curently in development
     
  8. Drobovik

    Drobovik Vault Archivarius Modder

    415
    Jun 20, 2011
    look up, post right above yours. :D
     
  9. Izual

    Izual Pipe rifle & chopsticks

    378
    Sep 18, 2009
    Hey.

    First post contains a lot of dead links, especially about Fallout 1 mods.

    I'm currently having a hard time trying to find the res patch for Fallout 1...

    If some admin could fix these dead link, it'd be great for everyone I guess. But this topic is nice work tho ;)
     
  10. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
  11. dustin542

    dustin542 First time out of the vault

    57
    Jul 2, 2009
    Timeslip's fallout engine tweaks' (for fallout 1) link is dead or at least the file's page was removed.
     
  12. Norm_Hull

    Norm_Hull First time out of the vault

    8
    Jun 5, 2012
    Hi,
    There's a very usable wrapper for Fallout on Intel Macs over at PortingTeam.com, and it's receiving a lot of interest. I'm a first-time player of Fallout 1, and would like to know which patches to apply to this game to:
    a) fix as many bugs and typos as possible
    b) add d3d compatibility (this reduces strain on the CPU, which is vital for my MacBook Pro)
    c) avoid as many gameplay changes (eg. cheats and additions) as possible.
    So far I've DL'd the High-Res patch 3.06 and Fallout patch 1.3.5 ENG TeamX, though not yet applied them (I'm not yet sure how). Are there any others I should be applying?
    Does the high-res patch include the d3d patch? Why does patch 1.3.5 contain a README for 1.3.3? Does the 1.3.3/1.3.5 patch contain any non-bug changes? Can I apply 1.3.3/1.3.5 mid-game? I'd read the README but it contains spoilers and may be out of date anyway.
    Sorry for so many questions. Oh, and the README link for patch 1.3.5 ENG is 404.
    Thanks all. :)
     
  13. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    My mod does a lot of what you are asking for, but, it does add a few things to the game. Feel free to check it out (links in my sig) although as you say, reading through the What This Includes may contain spoilers.

    Anyway, if you don't go that route, you'd want:
    official 1.1
    TeamX 1.2
    TeamX 1.3.5
    sfall/timeslip
    hires
    optionally you could get nimrod's dialog fixes, but i don't have a link to that at the moment. it's on a backup drive somewhere though...

    I may be forgetting something but I think that's it.
     
  14. Norm_Hull

    Norm_Hull First time out of the vault

    8
    Jun 5, 2012
    Thanks for that. The default Fallout install is v1.2, so presumably I don't need "official 1.1" and "TeamX 1.2"? "sfall/timeslip" appears to be a mod for Fallout 2, not 1, according to the official webpage. And those dialogue fixes would be great - there're so many errors (like the Enforcers saying, "Wha'da want?" instead of, "Wha'd'ya want?" or similar). So please upload those if you can.
    TeamX 1.3.5 is a tricky one: there's no clear way to install it. The instructions, if followed, would see the deletion of almost the entire Fallout data folder and its replacement with 3.5MB of files. I'd replace the files manually but they don't seem to correspond to any currently existing files.
    The hires patch would also be nice, but getting it to install is not so easy when you're using a Wineskin wrapper on an Intel Mac. Finding help with this is ongoing.
    I think I'm going to open a new thread for specific help.
    Cheers.
     
  15. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    If you have luck getting it to work feel free to drop me a PM... I'd like to include any mac/wine info along with my mod, what info exists anyway. I don't use either myself, but the more info the better for users/players :)

    sfall IS for Fallout 2, or is now anyway. But for a while at the beginning, it supported Fallout 1 as well.

    I'll see if I can find the dialog stuff. Here's links to the others:

    f1res http://www.nma-fallout.com/forum/dload.php?action=file&file_id=1370
    sfall http://koti.mbnet.fi/ton_hur/files/fallout/sfall1.7z
    TeamX http://teamx.ru/site_arc/patches/fallup13.rar

    Why does the TeamX replace your data folder? I don't understand that, but maybe it's because you're using wine/mac.

    Good luck!
     
  16. Norm_Hull

    Norm_Hull First time out of the vault

    8
    Jun 5, 2012
    @Sduibek: sorry for not replying sooner, this topic wasn't on my watch list :grr:

    I've managed to get f1res to work - someone posted the solution on my thread at PortingTeam.com, and on the wrapper's comment list. See there for further details:
    http://portingteam.com/files/file/7252-fallout-1/#commentsStart

    Thanks for the link to the sfall for Fallout 1. Unfortunately my exe is the UK v1.2, and the patch requires US v1.2. Which leads us on to…

    …TeamX. Well, just fyi, the patch you linked requires semi-official 1.2 before you can use it. That's in the ReadMe. But installing it is the problem. Here's the install instructions (for 1.2 semi-official & TeamX 1.3):
    The "compressed patch file" must be the file I downloaded: Fallout_1_TeamX_Patch_ENG_1.2w.zip
    I copy that into C:/Program Files/GSP/Fallout/. I decompress it by double-clicking, which produces a folder called: Fallout_1_TeamX_Patch_ENG_1.2w.
    But clearly that's not what's supposed to happen, because the falloutw.exe doesn't get over-written. So, maybe I'm supposed to take the contents of the folder, and put that into C:/Program Files/GSP/Fallout/ ? Well, if I did that the following would happen:
    • falloutw.exe would be over-written by the patched falloutw.exe - this is good :)
      data (folder) would be over-written by the patch's DATA (folder) - this is bad. :( In doing so, I'd lose over 300MB of game files, including my saved games.
    I think what's supposed to happen is that the files in the DATA folder (provided by the patch) are supposed to overwrite files that are somehow part of master.dat. But I've no idea how that's supposed to happen.
    Here's what my Fallout install looks like:

    That's pretty bog-standard. The only non-standard things are the obvious things: the three f1_ files, the two ddraw files and the Fallout1_H…h_3.06.exe file. Other than that, that's how Fallout installs by default.
    Totally agree. If we get this sorted together, I'll post a link on the Fallout page at PortingTeam (or even better, ask the wrapper maintainer to add it to his description) directing them to a walkthrough or whatever here at NMA. :)
     
  17. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    Windows will merge them by default, does your OS not do this?

    The newer versions of Windows handle it better than older version (e.g. Windows 7 versus Windows XP) by going through and confirming for each file if you want to replace, not replace, or replace but keep the original. This after asking if you want to merge folders. Screenshot:

    (put in Spoiler tags since it's wide)
    [spoiler:aea6503b07][/spoiler:aea6503b07]
     
  18. Stevex

    Stevex First time out of the vault

    11
    Jun 22, 2007
    > Windows will merge them by default, does your OS not do this?

    Nope, MacOS completely replaces duplicate folders. To merge them like Windows does, you need to run Terminal (it's in Applications/Utilities) and type:
    Code:
    cp -rp (drag-and-drop the files to add) (drag-and-drop the destination folder then press RETURN)
    So to merge DATA directories, your command will look something like:
    Code:
    cp -rp /(wherever you unarchived)/DATA /(the path down)/GSP/Fallout
    It's easier to use any available .EXE installer with Wineskin's "Install Windows Software" command. Ignore the "can't find new executable" warning since you're adding data files, not programs.
     
  19. Sduibek

    Sduibek Creator of Fallout Fixt Moderator Modder

    Oct 27, 2010
    :shock: Wow, that makes me hate MacOS even more. What a stupid useless default functionality. :evil:

    @Stevex: Thank you for that, I'll keep it in mind when doing any patches or instructions for Mac/Linux users going forward.
     
  20. Stevex

    Stevex First time out of the vault

    11
    Jun 22, 2007
    If you dislike that, you'll really hate what's needed to protect the files in DATA/proto/items and DATA/proto/critters. After all mods have been added, run Terminal and type:
    Code:
    sudo chown -R root (drag-and-drop the .../items and .../critters folders)
    (Type in your password)
    sudo chmod -R 444 (drag-and-drop the .../items and .../critters folders)
    sudo chmod 1777 (drag-and-drop the .../items and .../critters folders)
    sudo -k
    Fallout2 is now prevented from overwriting the files on startup and deleting them on exit.