Mod Launcher for Fallout Tactics

Discussion in 'Fallout Tactics Modding' started by RobertHouse, Jun 3, 2014.

  1. Samson3

    Samson3 First time out of the vault

    56
    Jun 29, 2008
    Erm...I feel stupid for saying this, but I can't find the download link for this D: If it makes using mods easier, I need some of that ;-;

    EDIT - Now I feel really stupid X) Just found it in the download list, sorry D:
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2014
  2. RobertHouse

    RobertHouse Fallout Tactics Moderator Modder

    703
    Jun 9, 2013
    Not a problem man, profile needs updated and tutorials need updated for v2.1 so it's a little messy there.

    If you need any help at all I'm here.
     
  3. Samson3

    Samson3 First time out of the vault

    56
    Jun 29, 2008
    Thanks ^_^ I'm in the process of downloading a bunch of mods, so I'll report back if there's any issues once I actually boot up the game. Made sure to download the Improver Data, and everything :D
     
    • [Like] [Like] x 1
  4. Samson3

    Samson3 First time out of the vault

    56
    Jun 29, 2008
    It works wonderfully, so far! ^_^ I love that someone took it upon themselves to make using mods easier for the technologically deficient, like myself ;-; The only request I have is, might you consider making it compatible with picture packs? I noticed that when I booted up the Redux mod, it added a bunch of new profile pictures that appear to have overwritten the ones I worked so hard to mod into the game, a couple days back :( It's a shame, because I had grown really fond of one of them. Aside from that, though, it looks like everything's running smoothly, so kudos ^_^
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2014
    • [Like] [Like] x 1
  5. RobertHouse

    RobertHouse Fallout Tactics Moderator Modder

    703
    Jun 9, 2013
    Actually it's not gone, Redux has it's own text files that are running instead of your text files, one sec... I'll make a patch for you...
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2014
  6. Samson3

    Samson3 First time out of the vault

    56
    Jun 29, 2008
    For real? :D I love you, man ;-;
     
    • [Like] [Like] x 1
  7. RobertHouse

    RobertHouse Fallout Tactics Moderator Modder

    703
    Jun 9, 2013
    Here is the fix: https://www.mediafire.com/?3rks737ram1em8r
    Install it to your Fallout Tactics folder and open the Mod Launcher and make sure "Portraits_patch" is activated and at the top of the list, should work with all mods.

    To anyone that has the Mod Launcher: This file installs the first 3 portrait packs so no need to download them. :D
    Not the 4th pack do to mostly critter portraits, will make all of the portraits into a plugin soon for Mod DB.

    I'm also working on many other plugins ATM so you can customize your game without modding! ;)
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2014
    • [Like] [Like] x 1
  8. RobertHouse

    RobertHouse Fallout Tactics Moderator Modder

    703
    Jun 9, 2013
    Sorry it took a while, couldn't remember my Media Fire password :irked:
     
  9. Samson3

    Samson3 First time out of the vault

    56
    Jun 29, 2008
    Thank you very much, I greatly appreciate it ^_^ Time to go play some Tactics :3
     
  10. RobertHouse

    RobertHouse Fallout Tactics Moderator Modder

    703
    Jun 9, 2013
    No problem :mrgreen: very happy i could help!
     
  11. Samson3

    Samson3 First time out of the vault

    56
    Jun 29, 2008
    Oh, ran into a problem :( When you say "make sure it's at the top of the list," I guess you mean at the top of the mod list in the Mod Launcher? How do I go about that? I can't seem to shift the order the mods are in...Tried to boot the game without that, and the extra mod portraits are just black squares D:
     
  12. RobertHouse

    RobertHouse Fallout Tactics Moderator Modder

    703
    Jun 9, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2014
  13. RobertHouse

    RobertHouse Fallout Tactics Moderator Modder

    703
    Jun 9, 2013
    Oh no :shock: i see why there showing black squares.

    Fix:
    Go to your Fallout Tactics folder and move the "GUI" folder into the "Portraits_patch" folder.

    Sorry about that :(
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2014
    • [Like] [Like] x 1
  14. Samson3

    Samson3 First time out of the vault

    56
    Jun 29, 2008
    Hrm. I've run into another issue, but I'm not sure what's the cause of it. For some reason, I get the feeling the Redux mod is to blame, but anyway...Considering it appears to be a game-breaking bug, I wasn't sure where else to bring it up D:

    I just got through with the Preoria mission, and upon returning to the second BOS bunker, Bunker Beta I believe it's called, my game suddenly crashes, brings me back to the main menu, and hits me with the message "Failed to open mission file: user/$$current$$/bunker02.sav"

    I'm not sure what to do O.o Is this a common bug? Do you know what it's related to? Has my file been broken? :(
     
  15. RobertHouse

    RobertHouse Fallout Tactics Moderator Modder

    703
    Jun 9, 2013
    Was the portrait patch at the top of the list or even active when you loaded the game before it crashed?

    NOTE: The active plugin order needs to be the same every time you start your game.

    Odd bug, never encountered it before, how many times has this crash happened? Try to load your last save and try it again, if it crashes again I'll need to look at your save to reproduce the crash.

    Thanks for the report.
     
  16. RobertHouse

    RobertHouse Fallout Tactics Moderator Modder

    703
    Jun 9, 2013
    I do know how this crash happens but don't know how it's happening in your game.
     
  17. Samson3

    Samson3 First time out of the vault

    56
    Jun 29, 2008
    I've been careful to keep the mod order the same every time I boot the game - I've been keeping the picture patch at the top of the list D: I've tried going back to the bunker four times, now, and it happens every time. I finish the mission, go back to the bunker, and the instant I try to enter the location, it hits me with the error. How can I show you my save? :o
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2014
  18. Samson3

    Samson3 First time out of the vault

    56
    Jun 29, 2008
    I have a second save with the same character from earlier on, back at the beginning of the Preoria mission. Would it be possible that only the QuickSave is corrupted, and if I went through the mission again with the second save, the bug wouldn't occur? :o It'll suck to have to go through the mission all over again, but if it circumvents the bug, then I'd go ahead with it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2014
  19. RobertHouse

    RobertHouse Fallout Tactics Moderator Modder

    703
    Jun 9, 2013
    A best bet is probably to restart your game but it's possible that the older save isn't corrupt, I'll PM you tomorrow with the information on how to send me the save files.

    Using my phone to post this.
     
  20. Samson3

    Samson3 First time out of the vault

    56
    Jun 29, 2008
    Sounds good. I'll give the mission another run, then. Sure hope my progress hasn't been lost ;-;