Thoughts on Power Armor

aboniks

Still Mildly Glowing
I'm just thinking out loud. If I offend your sensibilities, feel free to call me on it, but please don't be a jerk. I'll try to return the favor.

I'm making the assumption that the FO games are intended to be RPG's in the sense that they offer the *ability* to role play. From my perspective, this ability is essentially founded in the depth of the possible player interaction with the environment. Based on that assumption, more complex, rational interactions make for more options, thus creating more space in which to become immersed in a role.

If you don't agree with those assumptions, I can dig it. Just letting you know where I'm coming from.

I'm sure some of this has been addressed, but I'm new to NMA.

Where to start... Let's face it, Power Armor is an iconic part of the fallout universe, but in-game it's reduced essentially to a handful of basic stat modifiers. None of the real benefits or disadvantages of it are well treated. It could be so much more than it is...

1. Batteries: Why don't we need to charge them? It's bizarre to posit a 100 year power plant that fits in a suit of armor, especially when your car runs out of juice on a regular basis. Suspension of disbelief is all well and good, but you're getting near godlike power in return for...well...nothing. TANSTAAFL

2. Helmets/Sensors: More useful, please. A fully functioning PA helmet should be much more than just a plate steel noggin shield. Perception modifiers, night vision, party radio contact, enemy radio interception, jamming, weapon interfaces, spotlights, IFF, compass, etc.