Fallout 2 Restoration Project 2.1 (Unofficial FO2 Expansion)

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by killap, Jul 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. utunnels

    utunnels First time out of the vault

    74
    Aug 2, 2010
    Hm, I saw that as well. I thought that was because I killed too many super mutants in the military base.
     
  2. Skeezix

    Skeezix First time out of the vault

    8
    Aug 9, 2010
    I don't think I've even got the base on my pipboy map yet. It's possible Panzerkampfwagen is correct, and my Karma is too high for his tastes, but I don't remember that being the case in vanilla FO2.

    As I sit here, it just occurred to me that my town reputation might not be high enough for him, as I hadn't completed any Broken Hills quests, good or bad, at that time.
     
  3. utunnels

    utunnels First time out of the vault

    74
    Aug 2, 2010
    Yeah, it seems now we gain karma more easily.
    I don't recall I gain karma by killing a bandit in a random encounter.
     
  4. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder

    Mar 10, 2007
    Nah, you get +5 karma for killing one "bad" critter even in vanilla FO2. It's just because RP sets sfall to display karma change that make you think you gain karma more easily.
     
  5. Reference Obscura

    Reference Obscura First time out of the vault

    17
    Jul 16, 2010
    That is odd. I've done the Chad quest and have well over 1500 karma and Francis interacts with me just fine, so I can confirm that it's not either of those things.
    Now I was Accepted when I talked to him, but even if it is the result of neutral reputation, it doesn't make much sense that it would cause him to say "I've heard of you. I don't deal with scum." That implies that you've done something of notoriety that he specifically disapproves of.

    EDIT

    I tested it, and it is, in fact, the result of your neutral reputation. Francis won't talk to you if you're not at least accepted. Seems like an odd bit of dialogue for such a thing, though.
     
  6. Reference Obscura

    Reference Obscura First time out of the vault

    17
    Jul 16, 2010
    A quick question. On my current game I'm endeavoring to avoid the maps that will be noticeably affected by the forthcoming version of the RP (EPA, Vault City's Vault, Abbey, Modoc) and I'm wondering about NCR. I have every intention of fighting Lenny, so I know I'll most certainly need the next version, but my question is this;

    Is the basement where you fight Lenny considered to be the same map as screen 1? I tried to figure this out VIA the press-a-number-on-the-map-screen method, and I notice that #2 takes me to a completely black screen with no entrances or exits. Not sure if this is a glitched version of the basement or not. In short; if I visit NCR and then attempt to use my old savegames on the new update, will the fight Lenny script still lead to a crash, or am I ok?
     
  7. .Pixote.

    .Pixote. Carbon Dated and Proud
    Modder

    Sep 14, 2009
    The basement is apart of the entire map - Elevation 1= Entrance...Elevation 2=Basement, so the save will be affected. But I think the map (RP 2.1.1) is bug free so go for it... :wink:
     
  8. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    @Reference Obscura
    Yeah, the Lenny NCR bug is a script issue, not a map one.

    @all
    I haven't had any time to work on Fallout modding for nearly a week now. I still plan to release 2.1.2 as soon as I can.
     
  9. matthewfarmery

    matthewfarmery It Wandered In From the Wastes

    137
    Jun 26, 2010
    that is good to know, Im enjoying my time in the FO 2 universe,

    regarding skynet disappearing in EPA after you done a the missions underground then return the surface and skynet is gone, well telling him to stay put before you go down, (so he stops following, even though he can't go underground) seems to be a good workaround, as I told him to stay near the car, when I returned to the surface he was still there, so that is a good way to stop this bug from occurring

    beyond that, the current RP release has been very stable, will complete the game soon, as Im near the end, but will replay it, as its been an awesome mod and game :D :D

    thansk again killap for this awesome mod :D :D :D
     
  10. Skeezix

    Skeezix First time out of the vault

    8
    Aug 9, 2010
    Thanks for that. I haven't had a chance to get back to the game and test it m'self, but that was my intended course. And I agree wholeheartedly, it's a bizarre statement from Francis (not a gamebreaker or anything, just confusing.)

    Oddly enough, on my first playthrough of 2.1.1 (with a different character) I completely forgot to talk to Francis until I'd already fixed the mine's air purifier. All he'd say to me was "You're a real hero!" or something similar. I couldn't get him into the arm wrestling contest OR confront him about the letter found on the bodies.

    I'm starting to think the guy just doesn't want to talk to me, man. Dude's gonna give me a complex.
     
  11. Felipefpl

    Felipefpl Look, Ma! Two Heads!

    374
    Jun 17, 2010
    take your time, dont rush things ;) - aside the bug reports that are there (unfortunately many without savegames) there are the ones from the wiki too not counting all the others that will come with time. ;)
     
  12. mtwitte

    mtwitte First time out of the vault

    2
    Aug 12, 2010
    Running into a wierd instance

    I have installed a clean copy of the game on my Vista system using the re-released version. I then added in the RP patch and it plays fine. but every time my character gets a critical the damage is 0. It doesn't seem to matter what weapon i use and i don't have any traits that should affect it.
    Any idea why this might be happening? and how i might fix it?
     
  13. Felipefpl

    Felipefpl Look, Ma! Two Heads!

    374
    Jun 17, 2010
    Re: Running into a wierd instance

    dude, you should had read the thread, this was already reported and no sign of fix yet.
     
  14. Rextor

    Rextor First time out of the vault

    7
    Jul 4, 2009
    Does the RP version of F2 have increased system requirements in comparison to vanilla F2? I'm asking because when playing RP 2.0 I had a huge lag even when creating my character, mainly when I tried to change the looks of my character. And yeah, my pc is kinda old.
     
  15. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Re: Running into a wierd instance

    I'm not entirely sure about the cause of that issue, but I believe it might be addressed in the latest sfall version. Maybe Timeslip can comment here.

    How old is your system? (specs?) I'd say that yes the RP does require a system that is better than the original listed system requirements, but it shouldn't be by much.
     
  16. Timeslip

    Timeslip Water Chip? Been There, Done That
    Modder

    921
    Aug 15, 2007
    Re: Running into a wierd instance

    What's the value of your 'DamageFormula' line in ddraw.ini? If it's not 0, does changing it to 0 fix it?
     
  17. Stevenocracy

    Stevenocracy First time out of the vault

    11
    May 5, 2010
    It's strange, I never seemed to have this problem before until the last couple versions of RP. Not trying to bash RP though :)

    What I do is save my current game and exit Fallout completely. Then I start the game back and load my previous save. The problem seems to sort itself out then. YMMV

    I have an old system to but I don't have any slowdown however. You may want to open up ddraw.ini and make sure the "Graphics Mode" isn't set to 4 or 5. If it is set it to 0 instead to use DX8 mode.

    I know if I try to use DX9 mode I have massive slowdown in-game.
     
  18. Glovz

    Glovz Vault Dweller
    Modder

    735
    Sep 16, 2005
    @Stevenocracy
    So what setting do you use for the 'DamageFormula' line in ddraw.ini?

    If the critical hit issue can be narrowed down to a mod (ex. DamageFormula=1) then something should be able to be changed fairly quickly.

    If it turns out this is the behavior for vanilla (ex. DamageFormula=0) then more lengthy investigation may be needed.

    I can at least say that my mod does not preclude the possibility of a critical hit being 0 but as far as I can tell, my mod should not cause all critical hits to be 0.
     
  19. Lord Danath

    Lord Danath It Wandered In From the Wastes

    130
    Jan 14, 2008
    I already posted about this problem before.

    The 0 damage criticals hits happen when using the default damage formula.

    I only tested it with Unarmed and Melee Weapons but I'm guessing the problem happens with guns as well.

    Basically the problem is that every critical ALWAYS do 0 damage both to you and to your enemies.

    For reference I didn't choose the YAAM option on the installer.
     
  20. Rextor

    Rextor First time out of the vault

    7
    Jul 4, 2009
    Re: Running into a wierd instance

    celeron 900, 256 ram, geforce2 mx400 / win xp sp2
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.