Fallout 2 Restoration Project 2.3 (Unofficial Expansion)

Discussion in 'Fallout General Modding' started by killap, Dec 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IYouI

    IYouI First time out of the vault

    42
    Dec 15, 2013
    @NovaRain
    What does "WorldMapFPSPatch" do? How would it become faster with vanilla code?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2016
  2. Schezza

    Schezza First time out of the vault

    75
    Sep 7, 2013
    @merenbach you're right. Apparently I misread or something, whatever.

    You are very lucky. By coincidence I copied my whole savegame folder at the right moment. Alright, I prepared a game for you. Kaga is mad though, not even saving within a cave saves you from crashing. SpeedMultiInitial=1000 and you shall meet Kaga within 10 seconds.

    None of the companions are causing it, no equipment, no unused points and the car not as well. Good luck finding the cause haha. I also made a new char and ran into him and saved, nothing happened. The bug is triggered by an aggressive combat function of Kaga. After he wants to run, you exit combat, enter combat again, save, load, nothing happens. BUT if you do not exit and re-enter combat, you're still going to crash. Besides all that, I was supposed to meet Kaga like 6 times but the map was empty. Another bug somewhere.

    But worse than a Kagabug, seems like the stone old bug with saving during combat in the rng caves, especially at fighting (maybe only?) deathclaws still exists. That bug is very random and hard to reproduce. Actually no, wrong. The crashes in those caves isn't caused by save and load. In those cases you DO save (and load), because you might have those random crashes.

    I also had my car disappear today due to no fuel, but couldn't reproduce it.

    Btw guys, the option to raise combat speed. I'm not even sure it works, can't you make it so it'll work like in F1? In F1 it's perfect and raising SpeedMultiInitial just sucks for normal playing.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2013
  3. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Heh, oh trust me, I know. I do software for a living. I feel like you have to be a masochist to be a software developer.

    I would, but it explicitly says in the high res ini file to NOT have both settings on. So yeah, I don't want to even if you say you didn't see a difference. Honestly, I think I'll just just leave it as is and then people can come here to ask. I'll also add it to the FAQ of my readme, which I know no one reads. Users don't read.

    No crash for me during his encounter. Played through couple times of him killing me and another of him running off. Now I never did exit combat as he ran away and eventually he disappeared offscreen (as he should). His cronies were still there fighting me, but no crash. Next I'll try killing off his people first and then go for him to see if exiting combat triggers the crash. EDIT: And it doesn't for me. No crash. Not sure what to tell you.

    But yeah, nothing bad happening so far. But do you usually play with the SpeedMulti setting? I could totally see the engine shitting bricks with everything sped up like that. If you do, this is probably the cause of your random crashes.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  4. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder

    Mar 10, 2007
    The description in ddraw.ini:
    In FO2 vanilla code, the world map speed is related to your CPU. With "modern" spec you can rush through the entire map in seconds.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2016
  5. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Be sure to see all my edits to my post above NovaRain. Just wanted to point this out incase they were missed.
     
  6. Schezza

    Schezza First time out of the vault

    75
    Sep 7, 2013
    @killap nonono, the game crashes in this particular case if you meet him and save AND load, without scaring him away and exiting and re-entering combat first.

    And no, I don't play with speedsettings. Also with speedsettings I wouldn't have been able to test it as throughout as I did. With speed, you don't even have a chance to exit and reenter combat before he disappears.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 9, 2016
  7. BrecMadak

    BrecMadak First time out of the vault

    93
    Jul 5, 2010
    Killap, the game gives no actual response when typing a char name after some random number of parameters; simply you can not edit unless you re-start the whole game, and additionally it may lag mouse movement and starts to beep weirdly. This always happens on each time in this patch. Just for that reason couldn not even start my gameplay after trying for about 15 min or so.

    Win 7 Ultimate, GoG, F2RP 2.3.

    Also wrote bug report section.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  8. adipe

    adipe First time out of the vault

    19
    Dec 29, 2013
    i have the addict status on the screen even after i got better (withdrawal got passed so all stats are to normal again).

    more than two weeks have passed over the withdrawal simptoms.

    how can i fix this?
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  9. Schezza

    Schezza First time out of the vault

    75
    Sep 7, 2013
    YOU took some jet. in san Francisco the last merchant in the town sometimes sells a cure, save/load till he has it, or you finish the quests for finding a cure.

    some addict status take a week to disappear, in some cases might be longer. Just save and load and save before taking drugs :P

    yeah I just tested with mentats, it took two weeks to disappear. Atleast my char didn't enjoy the mentats in my inventory by himself, would be fun if he did tho hehe
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  10. adipe

    adipe First time out of the vault

    19
    Dec 29, 2013
    maybe You took jet :).

    i used some mentats and some buffout before reading books. mentats decreased agility by two after a week, taken buffout again to decrease agility further.

    i did not save after addict status appeared. i know there are some issues with that. i just read/used the science,repair,outdoorsman books and, after a week passed, i took some buffouts to prepare before spending skill points into the underrated sneak skill and using guns and bullets books.

    more than two weeks passed after all that and the addict status is still there.

    is using drugs cheating if doing so for spending skill points? is it a bug exploit? if so then it should be fixed, right? or if it isn't fixed yet then there should be some authoritated person explaining that we should not exploit the bug. maybe using sneak to end the combat before shooting another bullet into a mercenary party that would otherwise shoot for the legs and head on rough combat.

    i just tried to do an iron man thing with rough combat and game difficulty set to hard. i got bored. i may try doing it all over again.

    maybe they should have made (balance) fallout a game where drugs would not exist...?

    in real life if i take a booze i get more idiotic and therefore i tend to regard myself more of an idiot and so i may learn easier from other sources then my personal experience. the same should apply to fallout game, right?

    i guess the tragic cards refference (being addicted to) is quite humorous.
     
  11. Schezza

    Schezza First time out of the vault

    75
    Sep 7, 2013
    nobody knows or cares how to use drugs to your advantage!

    who replaced the awesome .223 pistol (and the other gun nobody cares about) sound with the shitty revolver sound? wtf
    At first, I tried revolver and was like, awesome new sound, just to find out that someone thought it was a good idea to replace the other one? .... how can I change it back? .223 pistol was the best sound in F1. What kind of a retard do you have to be to replace it? oh my god

    I can't find the soundfile in the F1 master.dat? I got headache atm, so I only listened to WA sounds, not to everything, in case it's misplaced.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  12. adipe

    adipe First time out of the vault

    19
    Dec 29, 2013
    try getting yourself addicted to some drugs then go to the brotherhood to spend some two weeks for an implant. you'll get up with the permanent addicted status. i also know/think that if you save when addicted and then reload you won't be able to rid yourself of that disinformation.

    the sound of .223 pistol is not a bug. the permanent appearance of addict status IS a bug. unfurtunately it's not been fixed yet. i would be ok with the addict status not being informative as to which drug i am addicted to (so that i would know if i have to sleep cold turkey one week or two weeks) but if it is permanent then i can't know when i don't get the intended (wanted) side effects again.

    or maybe i'm really exploiting a bug when i INTEND to suffer from addiction so that skills are raised higher for the same amount of sk points. unfortunately there's no authority to that matter for things to be cleared out.
     
  13. RolandDeschain79

    RolandDeschain79 Android Adventurer

    48
    Apr 12, 2012
    Fallout for Android Screen scroll issues

    Hey Killap, Roland here from the Fallout for Android project. I'm absolutely thrilled to see new updates to the restoration project, thank you for your continued support.:clap:

    I was hoping you could help me troubleshoot a screen scroll issue I've been having with the newer 2.2 and 2.3 version of your incredible restoration project. Currently Fallout 2 for Android is stuck on version 2.1.2b. The issues is with being unable to scroll on certain maps like the temple of trials. I've found this can be fixed by running the game in direct draw 7 mode and enabling ignore PC scroll limit option. However the game performance is unplayable in Android in anything other than basic or DX9 mode. I am also unable to access the screen settings menu while using graphics modes DX9 or basic. So is there a way I can enable the ignore PC scroll limit without enabling it from the screen settings menu?

    Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated, Thank you

    XDA Thread DosBox Turbo Version:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2410203

    XDA Thread QEMU Version:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1868326
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  14. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Kudos to you as well for making it work on Android!

    So I don't know how you have things setup, but have you tried manually setting it through the f2_res.ini file? You don't have to change these setting through the game itself.


    11 characters is the max. I don't see any problem on my end. What happens if you disable the high res patch? Run f2_res_Config.exe

    Post a save game somewhere.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  15. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    Hey, can you try out these new Kaga files and see if you still get crashes? Just extract and put them in Fallout2\data\Scripts It'll ask you to overwrite, say yes. It's a shot in the dark, but I'm curious if this helps you. Let me know.

    http://www.killap.net/fallout2/betas/kaga_rp231.zip
     
  16. iLikeDirt

    iLikeDirt First time out of the vault

    12
    Dec 29, 2013
    I'm having a problem with FR 2.3. My Fallout 2 is the GOG version running on Mac OS X 10.9.1, which is basically the Windows version wrapped up in a Windows XP WINE wrapper. I installed FR 2.3 using the Windows installer within the wrapper. The only tweaks I had to do to make the mod work were that 1) I had to turn off compatibility mode using regedit and 2) I had to set GRAPHICS_MODE=2 in f2_res.ini to get rid of the psychedelic colors. Everything had been working without a hitch from the temple of trials through Klamath.

    Then I entered the Den. The entire map for the Den was just the color black! I can walk around the blackness, but there aren't any people or scenery. I can hear the music. If I save once I'm in this state and load the savegame, it doesn't load and I'm dumped back at the main menu. The Den is still in this state if I load an old save and enter the town again.

    Here's a screenshot:

    KpH74za.png

    Here are the applicable savegames for debugging purposes:

    http://www.sendspace.com/file/g3e3au (just outside the Den)

    http://www.sendspace.com/file/vzx7w1 (in the Den, doesn't load)
     
  17. Darek

    Darek is currently unavailable

    Jan 7, 2008
    No and absolutely no. None of that is normal or has ever happened to me, and I just tried both again and it still didn't. Maybe the timer event list got fucked up in your save or something. Out of curiosity, what addiction does it say you have in your karma tab?
     
  18. killap

    killap Bear Dude Moderator Modder

    May 16, 2005
    So I don't know what to tell you, but this is the quintessential example of installation gone bad. I've seen this reported several times by Mac users recently, but I'm not sure how they went about fixing it. But yeah, the answer is not a bug, but something wrong with how you installed the RP.
     
  19. NovaRain

    NovaRain Casual Modder Modder

    Mar 10, 2007
    Did some tests with the new files, I can save/load with no problem in the 1st and 2nd encounter. But for 3rd and 4th the game still crashes, don't know if it has something to do with the map itself since both 3rd and 4th are in the same encounter map. The 5th also crashes, since there's no new eckaga5.int in the zip.
    Here are my savegames in 1st to 4th: https://www.mediafire.com/?adxtwp1gk4vxf0y
     
  20. adipe

    adipe First time out of the vault

    19
    Dec 29, 2013
    i didn't know there was something to be found in the karma tab. thanks. it's very helpful for situations like this.

    in this savegame i uploaded the addict status is 'permanent' on the screen, i thought i'm gonna be stuck with it. i checked with the karma tab. there were no addictions there. i took some drugs to check it out, after you told me about the karma tab thing.

    a few hours ago i opened the savegame in an editor to see what's there, the buffout addict was =1 but the stats were back to normal and in-game the karma tab i just read now had no addiction to tell there. so it's a bug that is not too much if you know how to get around it.

    so, after reading about the karma tab (scrolling down is needed, to the part where addictions are shown), i tried using again some buffout to see if some addiction appears in the karma tab. it does. i thought to myself... 'well, let's try to cold turkey it for two weeks, see what happens'. funny thing is that the buffout addiction kicked in the karma tab (it wasn't there before trying this, just the red status being false). in less than a week after that the stats changed (got the message 'you've got the shakes') and the addict status disappeared after another 7 days.

    thanks, again.

    so, to get rid of the addict status appearing on the screen i needed to get addicted again to buffout. i mean, using buffout again and making sure to be addicted again in order to clear the false red status off the screen. without doing so (taking buffout again) the red thing would have been present indefinitely.

    http://we.tl/PO0s7pPpCY
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2013
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.